On Being a (Book) Polygamist 

I like to read a bunch of books at the same time!

The main benefits have to do with my idiosyncrasies. 

One, I’m a mood reader. So I like to pick a bunch of different kinds of books to be in my currently reading pile. There are days when I’m not in the mood for the contemporary young adult romance so I may turn to something else in the stack, maybe this nonfiction book on Vesuvius. There are also days when I don’t know what I’m in the mood to read. So I just read a chapter from each book. 

Two, I have the irrational fear that I will run out of books to read (even though I regularly have four piles of library books waiting to be added to my currently reading piles). Seeing a double-digit number next to my Goodreads currently reading shelf comforts me. And looking over at the two piles on my bookshelf also comforts me.

But this does mean that packing for trips is a struggle. I can’t bring all the books I’m currently reading. So I end up taking all the ones that will fit, sometimes with comical results.

Then I have multiple people asking me if I can really keep track of all those storylines in a tone that implies that I’m not capable of that. (For the record, I am.)

Ultimately, it isn’t something that matters that much in the grand scheme of things. But I do find it amusing to apply monogamy or polygamy to reading. 

So tell me… are you a book polygamist? 

Source for picture: Pinterest 

One thought on “On Being a (Book) Polygamist 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

