Retro Reread #2: Dragon Prince by Melanie Rawn

november-book-review

185289

The concept of Retro Rereads was created by a writer at Book Riot and the idea is to pick books that you haven’t read or reread in a while and read them again to see if they are still your favorites. (I read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe for January. Still one of my favorites.)

This one is also a fantasy novel that could be read on its own or part of a six book series. I read the whole series when I was twelve-ish and I was bawling uncontrollably for about an hour when I finished. So… I’ve only read the whole series once but I’ve read this first book multiple times. My copy has a cracked spine and pages falling out of it now. But I hadn’t reread it in years so I wanted to see how I felt about it (especially after reading her new Touchstone series that I didn’t like at all).

I have to admit that from the first page I felt the magic. We start out with Prince Zehava hunting a dragon with his son-in-law Chay. Very Beowulf. I had a hard time putting this book down to read my library books.

Rohan is his son. There is also Sioned, the Sunrunner. Their marriage is arranged a little by Andrade and also by fate. (“Even if it was written in stone you could still break it.”)

So there is a bit of insta-love but I love the characters so I wasn’t really bothered but I know this situation can bother other people.

Not only are the main characters strong but also the supporting cast. They feel real and human. I love reading about them even when they make some really ugly decisions. They take responsibility for them and have friends around them to knock them back on the right path again. This book celebrates the good in humanity but doesn’t ignore the bad.

Men and women fight together. Back in the day this was not a given in fantasy.

I also love this magic system that has the light of sun and moons at the center.

So I can firmly say that this is still one of my favorite books.

Warning: There is one rape depicted and multiple rapes of another character that are mentioned, not shown. The first time I read this book I had to put the book down for a day before I could continue.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

